A New 14-140mm Lens, and the G6 has 24p!

The new G6 camera!

Panasonic G6

So today Panasonic announced a new camera, the G6 – and it has 24p! That’s a first for a non-GH series lumix M4/3 camera. An interesting development. It has the same sensor as the GH2, and ‘improved processing’. Depending on what video perfomance ends up looking like, this might be an interesting choice as a potential GH2 upgrade, if avoiding the moire and aliasing present in GH3 footage is a priority.

The new 14-140mm f3.5-5.6 lens.

The new 14-140mm f3.5-5.6 lens.

More interesting to me though is the new 14-140 lens. I used to own the old 14-140. It was a my go-to workhorse for shooting with my GH1, and before I got my Olympus zooms. F4-5.8 just didn’t cut it indoors with the ISO performance of the GH1 though, and overall I found the lens too contrasty and the auto-focus never really met my expectations. As my shooting style has evolved, however, I’m starting to see the possibility that owning a 10x zoom lens, even one with such poor aperture specs, would be useful for outdoor doc-style shooting. The new lens I find exciting because its a 3.5-5.6 lens, which means just enough brighter to make a difference. Will I buy one? It will depend on the price, but some day when I upgrade to GH3s and buy the 12-35 and 35-100 lenses, I just might pick up a new 14-140 as well. We’ll see!

Here’s the link to the press release:

http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/pressrelease/g6_fs14140/

One response to “A New 14-140mm Lens, and the G6 has 24p!

  1. G6 even got focus peaking which GH3 lacks, and with ports on the other side it won’t interfere with the flip screen which I find can be annoy sometimes.

    Also it got fully controlled wireless shooting with start/stop and live video feed to the smartphone/tablet which is a big plus!

Tell me what you think!

