Why You Can’t Skip Over Professional Wedding Videography

Once upon a time, I was a bride pinching pennies and cutting corners wherever I could as I planned for my wedding.

That meant no $2+ invitations, no real flowers for the bridesmaids, no china and silverware at dinner, no alcohol service at the reception, and no wedding videography… at all.

I should probably introduce myself before I go any further, since you’re used to reading Jesse’s thoughts on this blog. My name is Bree Brouwer, and I’m going to be contributing to this blog on occasion. Why? I’m one of the first people to ever use Paragon Videography’s wedding services. So with that in mind, this first post is one for all the brides out there.

Yes, I did just say that I when I was planning my wedding, I didn’t want to spend money on wedding videography. But after the first few months of planning, I realized something:

I’d be stupid not to.

Don’t get me wrong: I realize the need to stay within budget and save for a future life together (and maybe factor in student loans like I had to). But when you’re spending that much time and making that many decisions leading up to one day that will hopefully be the best day of your life, why would you want to overlook having a visual, moving picture archive of that day?

You may think that it’s easy to hand a relative or friend a camera and ask them to record everything, but it’s not. Trust me, I went through these thoughts, too. I tried to think of who would be willing to film for me who knew how to handle a camcorder, who knew something remotely resembling good filming techniques, and who would not accidentally forget to press the record button. Let’s face it – you don’t want to be watching your wedding video ten years later thinking, “Heavens, these shots are SO shaky, and there’s not even a good angle of our first kiss!”

If this is one of your worst nightmares, then there’s only one option left at that point: hire a professional.

So that’s what I did. Jesse Brauning of Paragon Videography and I are great friends, and so I knew his work from beforehand and why what he could offer went beyond a relative’s shaky attempts at a wedding video. Call me biased, but I don’t care; I don’t regret my decision to hire Jesse to this day. He didn’t forget to press the record button, or film a bad angle, or handle the camera with unsteady hands.

The editing to make it look more like an awesome, celebratory film than a boring home video didn’t hurt, either.

So despite what you might perceive to be my personal bias, professional wedding videography is more important than you might realize. I’d highly recommend looking into videography services near you to see what they have to offer, setting a budget once you have preliminary information, and making your final choice from there. And if you’re still worried about money, the good news is that many videographers have different packages for different budgets. Want your friends to film the reception as a personal touch but you want a lovely ceremony edited to reflect that special moment? No problem – many videographers would gladly film just that.

Even we penny-pinching brides sometimes need to realize when it’s time to let a professional do their job. Simply plan accordingly, give up on the idea of those monogrammed napkins you thought you just had to have, and look forward to the fact that in the end, you’ll own a high-quality, well-filmed, memorable video of your wedding day for years to come.

I can guarantee the napkins won’t last that long.

Oh, and here’s a new short film to watch:

4 responses to “Why You Can’t Skip Over Professional Wedding Videography

  1. I totally agree with you. You plan many things and you pay for so much. And at the end, the only things left is your photos and video. The professional will be busy finding things that you may not see. My humband and I were in the wedding video business for over 30 years. I have seen many a wedding video that isn’t worth even watching. A pro will make your vdieo feeli like you are celebrating that day over again

    Anne Husa

  2. Have you ever thought about writing an e-book or guest
    authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you
    discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

  3. Pingback: Media/Videography Blogging Samples - Bree Brouwer, Freelance Blogger

Tell me what you think!

