Welcome.

Hi! I’m Jesse Brauning. I’m a wedding videographer and I’ve been running my company – Paragon Videography – since 2009, when I graduated from Dordt College with a Digital Media Production degree. For the last few years, I’ve been reading a variety of great blogs and following some of the movers and shakers of the DSLR revolution – trying to understand and apply the tools and techniques they use towards making great wedding videos. There’s a lot of great information out there, but I think there just might be room for my voice.

I’m starting this blog because I’m not 100% satisfied with the resources that are available for people like me. The cinematic uses of large-sensor cameras is old news by now, and I’ve heard the “top ten tips for shooting DSLR video” a million times. Some of my favorite bloggers have much deeper pockets than I do, and some of my other favorite reads are a lot more willing than I am to DIY a solution that doesn’t look pro enough for client scrutiny, and takes far more time than I have to build. So, is there no room for another perspective? Well, since the 5D mark 2 came out, most wedding shooters out there have been using Canon DSLRs, and I’ve noticed that there’s not a lot of information out there for those of us shooting on Micro Four Thirds gear, doing things on a budget, and telling the stories of brides and grooms. I intend to change that.

My plan is to write a blog that I would want to read. It’ll be something of a middle-ground blog, where I tell you about my real-world decision-making, and not about what I would do if I had all the money or time in the world. I’ll share how I shoot weddings – my methods, workflows, techniques, and gear. I love trying to bring a cinematic aesthetic to the difficulties of shooting great wedding video on a budget. Right now I shoot on Panasonic GH2s, so if you hear a lot about that here, well, you were warned.

Tomorrow is my first wedding of the season, and I’ve got 14 ahead of me right now for 2012. I anticipate that number to go up, so I should have plenty to blog about going forward. Tune in next week (not sure what my weekly schedule will be like exactly yet; we’ll see) when I go into detail about why I shoot with the GH2, and a wedding day recap.

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with this – my first artistic short of 2012.

2 responses to “Welcome.

  1. Awesome! Represent that GH2 baybee!

Tell me what you think!

